//
you're reading...
SQL Server

SQL 2008 Install Blocked on Express Tools

 

While attempting to install SQL Server 2008 Developer Edition on my laptop I failed on the express tools validation. Forgotten that I had even installed the express edition I immediately uninstalled and rebooted my machine. To my dismay I was blocked at the exact same point, having successfully completely uninstalled the SQL server 2005 express edition from my laptop. Seeing that it was in fact gone I was a bit perplexed and thought possibly it was a bug in the installation process.  I began digging through the install logs confirming that setup thought I had the Express Tools installed as shown below

upon further investigation I found a reference to the registry key SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\ShellSEM

Slp: Initializing rule      : SQL Server 2005 Express tools
Slp: Rule applied features  : SSMS;Adv_SSMS
Slp: Rule is will be executed  : True
Slp: Init rule target object: Microsoft.SqlServer.Configuration.SetupExtension.Sql2005SsmsExpressFacet
Slp: Sco: Attempting to create base registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, machine
Slp: Sco: Attempting to open registry subkey
Slp: Sco: Attempting to open registry subkey SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\ShellSEM
Slp: Rule ‘Sql2005SsmsExpressFacet’ detection result: SQL 2005 Ssms EE installed=True
Slp: Evaluating rule        : Sql2005SsmsExpressFacet
Slp: Rule evaluation done   : Failed
Slp: Rule evaluation message: The SQL Server 2005 Express Tools are installed. To continue, remove the SQL Server 2005 Express Tools.

Checking the registry I find that the key does indeed exist and in fact was added by the install of Redgate SQL Prompt 3.5 as shown below

I exported the offending registry key, deleted it, installed SQL server 2008 without an issue and then imported the sql promt key back into the registry.

Filed under: SQL Tools, SQL 2008

About ldgaller

Accomplished Data Warehouse Architect, DBA and Software Architect with over 15 years of professional experience and demonstrated success designing and implementing solutions that improve business functionality and productivity. Highly diverse technical background with proven ability to design, develop and implement technology on an enterprise level. I approach all projects with passion, diligence, integrity, and exceptional aptitude.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

